DAILY PROMPT: Doing it my way.

If I could do something over again, it would have to be my wedding.

Don’t get me wrong, I had a lovely wedding.
It was at the location that I chose, it was small, relaxed and I got to wear my boots as I had wanted to.

I guess at the time I was trying to make people happy so I let my (soon to be) sister in law take over with some of the planning.
As soon as I got engaged to her brother, she pretty much told me that she and her best friend (at the time) would be my bridesmaids and her daughter and my toddler daughter would be in the bridal party as well. I didn’t want to upset anyone so I told her I guess that would be OK.

If I could do it all over again, I would choose the people I originally wanted as bridesmaids- my best friend and a good friend from high school.
I wouldn’t have any flower girls as I just wanted something simple, small, intimate, relaxed.
I wanted a day where I could marry the love of my life surrounded by our closest friends and family. Nothing fancy or over the top.

I would also change my wedding dress. I was pregnant when I got married and wanted to keep things as cheap as possible so bought a cream/off-white second hand ex-hire top and skirt. It wasn’t what I wanted, but it fit so I made it do.
I chose 2-piece red outfits for my bridesmaids. I would have liked to have had them worn Royal Blue but one of the Groomsmen had his hair dyed red at the time so I changed the wedding colour scheme to fit with his hair. (I’m nice like that.)

If I could do it all over again, I would wear red or blue myself and have my bridesmaids in white. It’s different, but it’s what I was thinking about at the time.

I was happy enough with the reception, I don’t think I’d change anything there- well, maybe I would like to actually get to eat something as I didn’t get a chance to eat on the actual day!

This year marks our 10 year Wedding Anniversary.
As yet we haven’t really planned to do anything but we have spoken about doing SOMETHING.
What that something will end up being- who knows???

Leave a Reply

