DAILY POST: Tainted Love

Isn’t it funny how the universe works?
I was talking to an acquaintance today about this exact topic and when I logged onto WP tonight, this was also the topic of the Daily Prompt. http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/22/daily-prompt-tainted-love/
Here is my story-

 

I have only had 1 other real relationship.
I was fresh out of school, hadn’t really thought about getting into a relationship when a family friend made a move and as they say- the rest was history.

Well, it didn’t last forever.
Our relationship lasted about 18 months.

I was sure it was going to last forever. It felt so right at the time. I t felt like things were progressing nicely, I was sure we would be a couple for the rest of our lives.
2 people had many things in common with enough differences to keep things interesting as we continued to learn about each other, ourselves and the world around us.

The we had “the talk”.
You know the one. You feel the relationship is going along steady enough to take it to the next level.
It was time to talk about the possibility of marriage and the C word…

No, not commitment;
Children.

Apparently he was happy for us to get engaged and married when HE was ready to, BUT he did not want to be a Dad.

EVER.

Ever is a long time, it’s so long in fact that it never ends.
Ever.

At first I felt I could just brush it off, continue with the relationship and see how things go and maybe somewhere down the road he’d come around to the idea of having some little people; miniature versions of ourselves but with their own personalities share our home, our lives.
Steal a piece of our hearts.

It wasn’t to be the case. Whenever the topic surfaced again he’d quickly want to change the subject.

I think by that time he realised how much I did in fact want to bring a life into the world and it must have been then when he decided we should not continue to be a couple.

I’m not sure if there is a right or wrong way to dump someone.

I guess I always thought face to face was the best option. That way each person could read the others body language, an exchange of each others personal belongings could be arranged or occur and that sort of thing.

I received a phone call. He dumped me over the phone.
We then had to arrange an awkward meeting where he returned my belongings that I had at his house. That was probably the point when I knew the relationship had in fact come to an end.

He and I would never be together. Ever. Again.

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “DAILY POST: Tainted Love

Leave a Reply

