DAILY PROMPT: Performance “I’m not in a band BUT…”

… it doesn’t mean that I can’t sing to express myself.

That was the first thing I thought of after reading today’s Daily Prompt http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/25/daily-prompt-we-got-the-beat/

I have always enjoyed singing and music in general.

From when I was little I would always sing along to my Pop’s Slim Dusty cassettes and vinyl records. I would sing along to my Mum’s Dire Straits album’s and anything she’d buy me when I was allowed to get something of my own.

I guess I have always used music as an outlet, as a way to explore myself, find out who I am, find music that I feel close to, that I feel a personal connection to.

I often partner a particular event to a song that I heard around the same time and when I hear it in the future, I usually have memories flood back to me, to that point in time when I first heard that song, or when that song played a special part in my life.

I most enjoy singing when I feel that I won’t be judged. I LOVE singing in the car along to my favourite songs. My kids have to put up with it regardless of if they like it or not.

When I was little I wanted to be a singer and sing in front of an audience. I did choir throughout school and even got to sing the solo sections in some songs.
I don’t know why I didn’t continue to follow my dreams, to chase those distant thought and turn them into a lifestyle, into a reality beyond my biggest dreams, hopes and aspirations.

Music and photography go hand in hand for me too.

I really enjoy shooting gigs, especially when it’s a friend’s band I’m catching. When I know what they’re playing, I know what to anticipate throughout the songs, I eagerly await each band members movements so I can hopefully get the “perfect” photo that night.
Although in saying that- I don’t think I have ever said that any of my photos are perfect.

There is ALWAYS room for improvement.

12 thoughts on “DAILY PROMPT: Performance “I’m not in a band BUT…”

Leave a Reply

