Longing for Gravity

A new life stares back at me.
I am on a mission, a mission that I will never be able to talk to my grandchildren about as I doubt I will get back alive… if at all.

I am headed to Mars.
It seemed like a good idea at the time. It would allow me the freedom to express who I really am.

The thing I didn’t think too deeply about though, was the fact that I would die somewhere out there. Somewhere in Outer Space. Away from my family, friends… away from Earth.

Who knows what “life” will be like at Mars? Will there be any type of life form? Plant? Animal? Alien? Who knows? I certainly don’t.

What I do know though, is that I will miss the feeling of sitting outside on a fresh Winter’s day with the sun shining down on me, slowly warming me up to the point where I forget that we are even in Winter.
I’m not sure what I will feel… or even IF I will feel anything. I can only assume I will be constantly in layers of clothing and in artificial everything. Just to stay alive.

Maybe I should have thought more deeply before signing up for this “Opportunity of a Lifetime”.

I knew I was called cold from time to time… but now it was official. I would never be warm again. Not how I imagined it anyway.

 

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/longing-for-gravity/

Leave a Reply

