Writing 101: I stumbled upon a letter… it changed my life.

It was like any other day.
I was out for a walk when I saw it.

Tucked into the fork of a tree was an envelope. Beautiful handwriting graced the envelope.
“My Dear” it said across the front of the envelope. I turned it over and saw that it had not been sealed, lifting the flap I realised there was a letter inside.

Carefully taking the paper out of the envelope, I smelt a delicate aroma of perfume.

Unfolding that piece of paper and reading it changed my life.

“My Dear,
I had hoped you never had to read this. I wish I had never needed to write this letter but I have, so here you are reading it.

Please do not sit by my grave and weep. I am at peace now and I am waiting here for you. Do not rush to be with me, enjoy yourself. Do everything we spoke about.

Tell the children I love them dearly. It was not their fault. I just couldn’t take the pain anymore.

Love from your wife
XOXOXOXO”

In complete disbelief I re-read the letter trying to make sense of it. Why was it there?
Trying to compose myself I wiped the tears from my eyes and looked up. I don’t know I did, but I felt I just had to.

There she was. Her limp body was blue, lifeless. She looked just like me- long golden hair and sad, distant eyes.

I had to find her family and help them. This was the reason I was put here on Earth.

 

Writing 101: Day Five- Be Brief. http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_assignment/writing-101-day-five/

3 thoughts on “Writing 101: I stumbled upon a letter… it changed my life.

    • I have always had a hidden love of wanting to write songs- maybe I am finally tapping into an unknown talent that has been lying dormant until now? I just have to learn how to hone my skills.
      Thank you for your input.

  1. =) you’re welcome! Good luck to your song writing career! I believe that we writers are always inspired by a song when we write, or the other way around – the songs that get produced are inspired by the stories we make.

Leave a comment