Writing 101, Day 17: Speak Up.

Standing firmly in place
Sun washing through my hair like a lathered mess
Voice inside me quivers.
Unable to speak but knowing I must
It is my turn to shine
To shine like a torch in a dark tunnel
A tunnel that is long and dark-
almost never ending.
Almost.
My eyes gaze over the sea of faces in front of me
My palms become sweaty.
All eyes are directed to me
They are waiting
Waiting to hear what I have to say.
I have to speak
The words cannot come out
It is not stage fright
My lips are not sewn shut.
I am scared.
I admit it- Public speaking terrifies me.

 

This was written in a style that I loosely connected to Karin Taylor’s style of poetry. She is one of my favourite artists.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_assignment/writing-101-day-seventeen/

One thought on “Writing 101, Day 17: Speak Up.

Leave a Reply

