The Stranger who changed my life.

“Excuse me, could you tell me your name? I’m waiting for someone fitting your description.”
“Kate, my name’s Kate” I reply to the stranger. I don’t know why I exposed my identity, I guess it was just gut instinct that the person hunched over me was trustworthy enough to let them know who I was. I mean, they said I fit the description of the person they were waiting for.

“I’ve been looking for you”

And with that, I had company at my table..

I sat silently, continuing with my lunch. This was one of my favourite meals- a delicious filling meal of mouth watering delicate grilled fish with a colourful and tasty garden salad on the side. Over the past few years I had lost interest in hot potato chips, but this day they were on the plate with my meal as well- they were thickly cut and had a lovely seasoning on them. I was reliving my childhood while enjoying my lunch and savouring the moment- wishing it wouldn’t end.

“So, I guess you’re wondering who I am and why I am here” the stranger stated. I acknowledged his question by nodding as I had my mouth full of food.
He continued on “I have learnt that we may be related. I heard you have been looking for me.”
He placed a piece of paper on the table in front of me and without saying anything else, he got up and left.

Once he had left the café, I opened the piece of folded paper up to find a hand written note.

It read:
For many years I have thought about you, you will always hold a special place in my heart. I am glad to know that you are alive and well.
Maybe one day we can start to get to know each other…
From…
Your Father

His name and contact details were also noted down on the bottom of the paper.
The ball was now in my court.

First and foremost I had to take it all in. I had never met this man before in my life and today we met for the first time, over 3 decades from when he first met my Mum.
It was only a brief encounter, but enough for the both of us to know we existed.

Now it was my turn to arrange the next encounter.
I had to think… there was so much I had to consider…

I did not know where to start, should I chase him out the door and ask him to come back?
I could not move though- I guess it was the shock of everything that had just happened.

Don’t get me wrong, I was very happy, thrilled even as I never imagined this would have ever happened to me. I thought the idea of ever finding my Dad was just a dream- but here it was. He was alive, he was happy to know I was alive too and best of all, he seemed more than willing to get to know me, his daughter.

I tried to process what had just happened as it still seemed so surreal.
I could see the similarities between he and I. We looked alike, we had solid builds, were tanned with fair hair and matching eyes.

I think it could take a while to take the next step, but I didn’t want to leave it too long as I didn’t want to come across as uninterested.

This really was a life changing moment.

5 thoughts on “The Stranger who changed my life.

Leave a Reply

