Family isn’t always blood related.

Last week was just the reminder i needed.

Just because you may be related by blood to someone, it doesn’t mean they deserve to be part of your family.

Family are people who love and care for you no matter what. Family stand up for each other. Family are there for you at your lowest. Family are there for you when you need them most.

Last week i had an Aunt and Uncle (siblings) pretty much kick me out of my childhood home-the home where my Mum and Nan live, i have been helping my grandparents for as long as i can remember. For the past decade (actually longer, but approximates are fine here) i have been regularly helping my Nan with gardening, household chores, shopping, taking her to do her banking, taking her to doctor’s appointments, cooking and baking for her plus whatever else she wanted me to do for her.

When she came home from hospital last month, i became her Carer and moved back home so i could take care of her 24 hours a day. I continued to do everything i had been doing previously as well as new roles such as helping her get dressed, helping her on the toilet, getting all her meals for her, making sure she was taking her medications at the right time, helping her walk around and then also making sure her oxygen condenser was correctly in her nose and was working right. I was also putting her to bed, i was there for support and company.

At times, my caring role even extended to caring for my Mum. Helping her with things that my Nan usually did for her. Some of the things i didn’t mind doing at all, but others i believe went well and truly beyond my role.

In the past few minutes i had a friend text me asking how i was and if i needed a shoulder to cry on or if i wanted a hug.
THAT is what family is.

Now i’m off for a while to see my friend. We may not be connected by blood, but we are sisters in every other way possible.

Leave a Reply

